Home > Uncategorized > Making Decisions and Committing

Making Decisions and Committing

As I was heading to church with my mother today we spoke about a difficult decision that I was facing. Given two fantastic options, how does a person decide which decision to make? My mother told me to ask God. She says things like this often. I tend to smile and nod. I don’t consider myself a terribly religious person and when forced with a difficult decision there are only a few people whose counsel I seek and God is not one of them.

While I was sitting in church, three amazing things happened. The Priest was Father Jeff who I hadn’t seen in 10 years. He was instrumental in my Catholic education and had spent many hours talking to me about God and the importance that he plays in our lives. The second was the gospel passage and the homily. Father Jeff asked if anyone was a gardener; I most certainly am not, but the analogy wasn’t lost on me. Our lives are in constant development and in order for us to reach our potential we must water and feed ourselves and those around us. We must prune away the distractions and obstacles that prevent us from doing great things. His words and the passage made my decision an easy one. I want to spend my time investing in people and organizations that I believe truly make a difference. So I guess sometimes God answers your question even if you don’t ask directly.

The third and most moving part of the experience was that two pews over there was a little girl of no more than 4 years old. Pretty little girl, very well-behaved, yet light-hearted and content. She had obviously been through chemotherapy as her hair had just begun to grow back. She was so full of life and you could see how happy her mother was to be sitting next to her. For the past 7 weeks I have been heavily involved with the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society as a nominee for the San Francisco Man of the Year. I’ve spent most of my time putting together an event at City Hall called Monte Carlo Night. My friends and family have been extremely supportive and engaged by helping find donations, corporate sponsors and silent auction items. I hate asking for things; I’d much rather provide something I feel is of value and have people feel like they’ve received something in return. I need to get over that. I can’t let pride get in the way of the cause. That little girl is alive because the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society has been active for 60 years providing much needed patient services, education and acting as advocates for patients in Washington by securing the money needed for research.

We are given precious few opportunities to do great things. The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society has blessed me with the honor and responsibility of raising funds for the essential services they provide. I’ve been continually impressed by the people who work for LLS and have given so much of their time and energy to such a worthy cause. I know the economic climate is challenging and that we are clouded in uncertainty and fear. It doesn’t matter if you donate $5, $50 or $5000, it only matters that you donate. I know a number of people have already donated, and I thank you from the bottom of my heart. The campaign is over on May 28th, that’s only a little over two weeks away. Thank you for your consideration.

To donate please go to :
http://gsf.llsevent.org/dportillo

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

