Home > Uncategorized > Beth Steinberg “guest blogging” — My Connection to the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society(LLS)

Beth Steinberg “guest blogging” — My Connection to the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society(LLS)

I am “guest blogging” for Dan to share my connection with LLS and why I was one of the first people to write Dan a check for Man of the Year. My connection with LLS started many years ago.  I was a volunteer in Patient Relations at the Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital at Stanford.  I was on the 2nd floor, then the oncology floor.  My role was to make sure the parents and patients knew the resources that Stanford made available to them.  Sometimes I answered questions about where the washing machines were, and sometimes parents would cry on my shoulder about the pain their child was going through.  It was tough, but I saw much more that made me happy and hopeful.  One of the best parts of my shift was to see a little girl with leukemia, Indigo.  She was 6 and had gone through a very rough time with chemo.  She had a great mother, Roza, who was a single parent to Indigo and her sister Silver.  The courage and grace I saw from Roza is something I may never see again in my life.  She amazed me with her strength during such a tough time.

Time passed and Indigo was released from the hospital.  I missed seeing her at the hospital, but was so grateful she was well enough to be home.  When I received a phone call from Stanford, telling me Roza and Indigo had called repeatedly to try to get my contact info, I was so happy.  We were able to connect thanks to Stanford knowing when to bend the rules and allowing us to exchange contact information.

I decided I wanted to do more, and heard about LLS’s Team in Training program.  I was a casual runner, but never came close to running a marathon before.  I signed up, and Indigo became an “honored patient”.  The program was great and Indigo and her family came to the runs to support the team.  You knew the pain you were going through during the run, could not compare to what Indigo and her family were going through.  It made you determined to finished.  I did finish my first marathon, and 7 more marathons with TNT.  I have been so lucky to have so many people support me and keep writing me checks year after to year.

Indigo is now 16 and doing great.  She is strong, happy and healthy.  Indigo thrived with the support of the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.  Huge strides have been made in treatment and patients have a place to go where they know they can get support to help them navigate through the disease.

So, I am urging you to support Dan in his quest to raise money for LLS. I have seen first hand the impact of Leukemia & Lymphoma Society and know they make an amazing difference.   I guarantee you the money will make a huge impact.

-Beth

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

